I am an artist. And I am going to be a strong, self-empowered artist for the rest of my life. I am going to be an artist not because I think I’m talented, or because I have an agenda to spread, or because I want to be famous. I am an artist because I think in poetry, because as I watch my life go by I snap picture frames in my mind, because my memory plays like a film reel and because I have a pungent and palpable NEED to paint. Because watching theatre makes my heart weep and I dream about dancing every time I hear music. I may not be the most technically trained person in the world, but I have soul. And I have passion. And I have need. And I have this huge bubble in my chest that I have to get OUT in some way. In every way. And for the first time in my life, I have bravery. I have the long awaited confidence to say I deserve a place in this world. To say I AM a beautiful soul. I have so much to offer, so much to say, so much to create. I have a lifetime of art to follow. The world doesn’t need another blessed soul cowering in fear and wrapped up in society’s pulse. We need freedom, we need soul, we need BALLS. I’m finding my fuck yes. If I’m willing to give of myself, I have every right to everything I see flitting in my dreams. It’s time for me to take charge of my talent and own it. For EVERYONE to. It’s not about me. It’s about every intelligent, talented, creative soul to remember that they have the RESPONSIBILITY to give that back to the world that showed them beauty. If you have known the gift of education, of opportunity, and most special of all, if you can create- the world needs dreaming. The world needs souls. And creation means anything…anything at all in any form of living that CREATES beauty in the world rather than feeds the lethargic robotic drumming that we’re all resounding in. 

WASTE of precious soul, magic lives and intelligent minds. THIS is what is the tragedy. The people in poverty are helpless…the people sitting in PRINCETON doing NOTHING have no excuse. RISE UP.

Leave a Reply

