We had something real and beautiful and eternal. I’m sorry you closed your eyes.

When it comes to love, I don’t blink.

And I’ll never forget you.

You said you’d always be there when I woke up…but now you’re not even here to kiss me good night.

And I wanted to scream “I love you” out the cracked window as I pulled away from you for the last time…but somehow my words got caught in the wind and on my tongue. But you know…and I know…love is forever.

But you are not. We are not.

And I’ll always have your kiss on my lips. Your fingers in my hair. A dried rose hanging on the wall. And you. I’ll always have you in my heart. Where you belong. Gone from my world…from the view of my feeble eyes…but encapsulated inside this beautiful love story…trapped inside a castle…and beating in my veins. In my heart. Always.

Maybe poetry is the only thing that’s gonna get me out of this alive.

I miss you.

Always.

And if you can’t see what I see…then you do need to fly free. Maybe one day you can join me in the sky. My wings can’t carry you any longer.

Because baby, I can fly.

Free.

Leave a Reply

